Recent News

Spring 2014 Cottrell College Science Awards

In the last 15 years the CCSA program has supported the research of approximately 1,350 faculty in more than 400 primarily undergraduate institutions, and has generated research opportunities for thousands of undergraduates at both public and private institutions. These awards are meant to provide seed money to jump-start productive research careers.

  The most recent awardees are:

Single-Investigator Cottrell College Science Awards

Adriana L. Banu, physics, James Madison University

  Determination of Key Astrophysical Photonuclear Reaction Cross Section Towards Understanding the Origin of p-Nuclei

Fabiola Barrios-Landeros, chemistry, Yeshiva University

  Copper- and Palladium-Promoted Aromatic Acyloxylation

Martha-Elizabeth Baylor, physics, Carleton College

  Optimization of Index Contrast in Diffusive Photopolymers Able to Create Waveguides and Fluid Channels in Optofluidic Devices

Brycelyn M. Boardman, James Madison University

  Synthesis of Functional Phosphine Chalcogenides for Polymerizable Cobalt Chalcogenide Clusters

Robert James Clark, physics, The Citadel

  Ideal Multipole Ion Traps

Rebecca E. Connor, chemistry, Dickinson College

  Investigation of the effects of parthenolide on the heat shock response system

Eric M. Cooper, biology, Hartwick College

  Genetic and Biochemical Analysis of Enzyme Clustering in Yeast and its Application to Lesch-Nyhan Syndrome

Bart J. Dahl, chemistry, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire

  Smart Terphenyls: Synthesis and Study of Planar Conjugated Compounds Capable of Dual-Input Geometry Switching

Amy B. Dounay, chemistry, Colorado College

  Design, Synthesis, and Evaluation of New Drugs for Human African Trypanosomiasis

Aimee L. Eggler, chemistry, Villanova University

  Activation of the Nrf2 Pathway by Oxidizable Diphenol Compounds: Elucidating the Contributions of the Electrophilic Form and Reactive       Oxygen Species

Marcello Forconi, chemistry, College of Charleston

  Nucleophilic Aromatic Substitution in Proteins: An Old Reaction for New Functionalization Strategies

Jennifer L. Fox, chemistry, College of Charleston

  Defining the Role of Accessory Protein Subunits in the Assembly Mechanism of Mitochondrial Complex I

Eilat Glikman, astronomy, Middlebury College

  Quasar/Galaxy Co-Evolution Caught in the Act: Understanding the Physics of Feedback

Lelia N. Hawkins, chemistry, Harvey Mudd College

  An Investigation of the Role of Fog in Forming and Transforming Brown Carbon in Urban Organic Aerosol

Lloyd Horne, chemistry, Murray State University

  Synthesis and Electrochemistry of Pyridine- and Phosphine-Stabilized Iridium Oxide Nanoparticles in Solutions and Films

Christos Lampropoulos, chemistry, University of North Florida

  Target Synthesis of Hybrid Nanomaterials from Single-Molecule Magnets

Elizabeth C. Landis, chemistry, College of the Holy Cross

  Molecular Monolayers on Nanoporous Gold Electrodes

Cody C. Leary, physics, College of Wooster

  Generation and Manipulation of Entangled Two-photon States with Tailored Transverse Spatial Modes via Hong-Ou-Mandel Interference

Aaron M. Leconte, chemistry, Claremont McKenna College

  Biochemical Characterization and Engineering of Taq DNA Polymerase Mutants for the Synthesis of 2' Modified DNA

Karen T. Lewis, astronomy, College of Wooster

  Probing the Accretion Flow in Active Galaxies with Double-Peaked Emission Lines

Sarah Luesse, chemistry, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville

  Development of a Stereoselective Tandem Diels-Alder Ugi-Smiles Process for the Efficient Assembly of Isoindoline Derivatives

Robert Mosey, chemistry, Lake Superior State University

  Multicyclic Heterocycle Syntheses via Tandem Amidation/Annulation Reactions of N-Containing Heterocycles and Carboxylic Acids

Emily Mundorff, chemistry, Hofstra University

  Identification and Characterization of Putative Haloalkane Dehalogenase Enzymes

Amanda R. Murphy, chemistry, Western Washington University

  Silk-based Biomaterials for Neural Stimulation and Repair

William G. Newton, physics, Texas A&M University, Commerce

  The Impact of Short-range Correlations in Nuclear Matter on the Equation of State, Composition and Dynamics of Neutron Stars

Steven Olmschenk, physics, Denison University

  Laser Cooling and Trapping of Atomic Ions with Telecom Light

Sara Olson, organic chemistry, Pomona College

  Investigation of Ascaroside Biosynthesis in the Nematode C. elegans

Marcos E. Ortega, biology, Macalester College

  Structural and Biochemical Studies of DNA Packaging in Double-Stranded DNA Viruses

Celeste N. Peterson, biology, Suffolk University

  Regulation of ClpXP Degradation during Starvation

Christine M. Phillips-Piro, chemistry, Franklin and Marshall College

  Sensing of Halogenated Pollutants by Dehalococcoides mccartyi

David Pooley, astronomy, Sam Houston State University

  Multi-wavelength Research of Core-collapse Supernovae

Daniel F. Santavicca, physics, University of North Florida

  Characterization of Inductive Superconducting Nanowires as a Building Block for Quantum Circuits

Tina T. Saxowsky, chemistry, Pacific Lutheran University

  Retromutagenesis: A Novel Route to Adaptive Mutagenesis

Jason P. Schwans, chemistry, California State University, Long Beach

  Unnatural Amino Acid Mutagenesis to Investigate Enzymatic General Base Catalysis

Mary J. Sever, chemistry, Barnard College

  Iron and Copper Induced Alterations in MicroRNA Expression as a New Role for Metals in Neurodegenerative Disorders

Benjamin M. Swarts, chemistry, Central Michigan University

  A Chemical Approach to Identifying and Profiling Proteins in the Mycobacterial Outer Membrane

Jessica Lynn Vey, chemistry, California State University, Northridge

  Enabling Rational Design of Biodesulfurization: Biochemical and Structural Characterization of Dibenzothiophene Monooxygenase

Weining Wang, physics, Seton Hall University

  Work Function Dependence of Barrier Height at CdTe/conducting Polymer Junction with Tunable Polymer Work Function

Lauren Waters, chemistry, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh

  Characterization of Two New Manganese Homeostasis Proteins in Escherichia Coli

Kurtis A. Williams, astronomy, Texas A&M University, Commerce

  Trigonometric Parallax Determination of the Masses of the Mysterious Carbon-atmosphere of White Dwarfs

Nathan T. Wright, chemistry, James Madison University

  Structure/Function Analysis of the Giant Muscle Protein Obscurin


Multi-Investigator Cottrell College Science Awards


Geoffrey Lovelace, astronomy, California State University, Fullerton

Jocelyn Read, physics, California State University, Fullerton

  Developing a Numerical Injection Analysis Pipeline for Gravitational Waves from Merging Black Holes and Neutron Stars

Andrew K. Udit, chemistry, Occidental College

Michael G. Hill, chemistry, Occidental College

  Wired P450 Electrodes for Bioelectrocatalysis

Kristin L. Wustholz, chemistry, College of William and Mary

William R. McNamara, chemistry, College of William and Mary

  Developing Robust Systems for the Photogeneration of Hydrogen: A Combined Synthetic and Single-Molecule Spectroscopic Approach

Return to list