Recent News

Jairo Sinova has been elected a 2010 Fellow of the APS

Dr. Jairo Sinova, professor of physics at Texas A&M University, has been elected a 2010 Fellow of the American Physical Society(APS). Sinova is a Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA) Cottrell Scholar, a member of RCSA's Science Advisory Committee and RCSA's Cottrell Scholar Advisory Group. No more than one-half of one percent of the APS's current membership can be selected for inclusion in the APS Fellowship Program, which was created to recognize advances in knowledge through original research and publication, innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology and significant contributions to the teaching of physics or service. Sinova, who joined the Texas A&M faculty in 2003, is cited "for contributions to the understanding of spin-transport in magnetic systems, particularly the spin-Hall effects." He was nominated upon the recommendation of the APS Division of Condensed Matter Physics. A condensed matter theoretician specializing in nano-spintronics, Sinova first proposed the notion of intrinsic spin-Hall effect and formed part of one of the teams that co-discovered the spin-Hall effect. His research has been published extensively in top peer-reviewed journals such as Science, Nature Physics and Physical Review Letters and highlighted in Physics Today. In addition to serving as a member of the Science Advisory Committee, on which he reviews proposals for RCSA, Sinova is also a reviewer for the NSF and several top physics journals. He organized the first international conference on spin-Hall effect in South Korea (2005). Sinova is a member of APS as well as the American Association of Physics Teachers. His many awards include an NSF CAREER Award (2006), a RCSA Cottrell Scholar Award (2006) and a Texas A&M Association of Former Students College-Level Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching (2008). A native of Spain, Sinova received his Ph.D. from Indiana University in 1999 and held postdoctoral positions at the University of Texas and the University of Tennessee prior to joining Texas A&M.

Return to list